If you build it, they will come.

This week has started off with two awesome conversations with two brilliant minds. Yesterday, I had a chat with the amazing producer Mr. Tim Ennovator Rimbui (find him here). The same conversation was replayed on a different level with Dan and Blinky from the innovative band, Just a Band. I respect this individuals because they dare go out of the box. In my opinion, for them there is no box, just a wide open void waiting to be filled. A need waiting to be satisfied.

Now, I’ve always had a passion for music but i’m too shy to sing/perform in front of people. My knees get all weak and my mouth mimics a roll of sandpaper. Luckily i came to the realisation that i can’t sing before i jirushad infront of mafans kibao and the lovely people of Chuki Fm (No, that is not a radio station) and embarrased myself in trousers that deny the boys their God-given right of movement.

I figured that my contribution to the art that feeds thousands of people, who in turn floss the money they have made from our album sales and downloads, would have to come in through a different avenue. I’ve always pictured myself in a scenario where thousands of fans would be dancing along to tunes by an awesome band on stage with me in the crowd smiling to myself satisfied that my humble hands had a roll to play in the formulation and actualization of that event.

In the spirit of dreams, one of my all time favourite movies is Field of Dreams. Its the story of a man that tore down his corn plantation huko Trans Nzoia ya States to build a ball park. Please note that all this was done at the bidding of voices in his head. Basically, this was a suicide move. His ka-buroti (plot) was already being targeted by their version of Equite cause he could not service the mortgage. His neighbors huko rushad all kinds of verbal matope at his move but he plowed on to realize his dream. 

I’ve often roused from a deep, exhaustion fueled slumber to think of how i would be able to play my part in changing the industry. i know the streets have more pirates that the coast off Somalia therefore distribution may not be the way foward. It is then that it hit me like Chris Brown did Rihanna (old joke, i know). The future is in shows.

I remember as a kid sitting on my dad’s shoulders at a Kanda Bongoman show at Nyayo Stadium. I also vividly remember attending Beats of The Season with my dad wearing an oversized Swahili Nation t-shirt holding onto a notebook all day hoping to get a chance to get backstage and have it autographed by Swahili Nation, Kalamashaka and Eric Wainaina.

What happened to this kind of shows? Where did the coporates that were so willing to fund such activities disappear to? Is it that there aren’t enough musicians worth mentioning out there that shows can’t be done? Is it that the fans no longer show up for these gigs?

Maybe there just aint people out there with the faith to put up such a show and let the masses come. Where is the confidence in our own people?

I still believe “If I build it, they shall come.” Watch this space.

Now playing: Muthoni DQ – Where do Dreams go?

One response to “If you build it, they will come.

  1. Notebook for an autograph…..classic. Those shows were awesome…the dreams are there love….they just get buried under the rubble that's life's experiences, “hard times”, worries…etc. And that rubble gets real heavy!

Leave a Reply

